Executive Committee
2018-2020 Executive Board

  • Valerie Kafka, President
  • President-Elect, (seat currently available)
  • Marie Martin and Pat Doherty, Recording Secretaries
  • Elizabeth Siemiatkaska, Corresponding Secretary
  • Earle Nicholas, Treasurer

President's Message:

Our garden club has accomplished much over the 85 years since it’s inception in 1933 and I look forward to yet another successful year.

​We will organize and execute our Annual Plant Sale and plan our next major fundraiser, a House and Garden Tour, which will occur in 2019.

​​We will enjoy our monthly speakers who share their expertise with us on gardening, horticulture, flower arranging and other related topics. This year our own trio of gardening experts, Brenda, Ellen and Carol, will share their fun and informative “Wanted: Dead Not Alive” presentation at our January meeting.

​​We can look forward to “A Walk In The Woods with Ed” three times, and three “Floral Arranging Workshops” with Pat, Marge and Kathy, plus a “Cre-ate Your Own Garden Sculpture Workshop” in October and a ClubTrip to The Hydrangea Festival on Cape Cod in July.

I am excited about participating with you in all that is planned for the coming year, including helping Sharon and Pat honor our commitment to maintain the gardens in Post Office Square throughout the growing season and Planting Daffodil Bulbs this fall.

​Sue Nicholas organizes volunteers weekly at Wingate and Pat Doherty arranges for a weekly floral arrangement at the Library.

​Very special thanks to all Board Members, Committee Heads and Committee Members….and to all members…everything we do is accomplished with your generous help.

​Valerie Kafka

2017-2018 Volunteer of The Year:

Congratulations to Susan Nicholas!

An Unsung Hero of the Sharon Garden Club. Over the last year, Susan has expanded our Garden Therapy Program to include a year round program at our local rehabilitation center. She has orchestrated a flower donation program with our local grocery store which makes our year round program feasible. Susan faithfully meets with participants every Friday morning much to the delight of the participants! We appreciate Susan and celebrate her as our Unsung Hero.
Pat Simmons and Marge Drake

Recent past honorees:​​

2016-2017 ~ Kathy Hawes​
2015-2016 ~ Patricia Doherty
2013-2014 ~ Elisa Falcione
2012-2013 ~ Adriana O’Sullivan